List of Advisors

The following trained individuals are available, as their schedules permit, to serve as impartial procedural advisors for students who are charged with violations of the FIU Student Code of Conduct. The role of the impartial advisor is to assist the student in understanding the policies and procedures of the student conduct process. The impartial advisor may not represent or speak on behalf of the student at the hearing, nor may they instruct the student as to what to say or not to say. The impartial procedural advisors are procedural advisors only. If the student wishes to have an advisor that may advise them beyond this as to what to say, they may bring their own advisor into the hearing process (who may be anyone - a parent, attorney, friend, faculty/staff member, etc.).

The FIU Student Code of Conduct states: "the term 'advisor' refers to any person chosen by the charged student or the alleged victim to assist him/her throughout the disciplinary process. Students are required to address the hearing body in person (which includes electronically), on their own behalf. Although they may consult with their advisor during the hearing, this consultation must take place in a manner that does not disrupt the proceedings. Advisors may not address the hearing officer or hearing body and may not act as witness."

2018-2019 List of Impartial Procedural Advisors

Michelle Castro
Assistant Director, Office of Campus Life
(305) 348-2397
Michelle.Castro4@fiu.edu
Scott Jones
Director, Wolfe University Center, BBC
(305) 919-5500
Scott.Jones@fiu.edu

Janice Givens
Program Manager, Multicultural Programs & Services
(305) 348-2436
Janice.Givens@fiu.edu

Timothy Dean
Program Director, Upward Bound & Pre-College Programs
(305) 348-2619
Timothy.Dean@fiu.edu

Joanna Garcia
Associate Director, Center for Leadership & Service
(305) 348-1395
Joanna.Garcia3@fiu.edu

Amaris Mier
Transfer Coordinator, Transfer & Transition Services
(305) 348-0562
Amaris.Mier1@fiu.edu

Korrin Anderson (not available during summer)
Director, Orientation & Family Programs
(305) 348-6414
anderskl@fiu.edu

Suman Kakar
Associate Professor, School of International & Public Affairs
(305) 348-5992
Suman.Kakar_Sirpal@fiu.edu

Sean O'Melia (Graduate Student)
Graduate Assistant, Undergraduate Admissions
(305) 348-0525
somelia@fiu.edu

Maria Luisa Perez Serrano (Graduate Student)
Graduate Assistant, Women's Center
(304) 348-1506
mperezse@fiu.edu

Janet Branch
Associate Director, Wellness & Recreation Center
Phone TBA
Janet.Branch@fiu.edu

Gabrielle Lloyd (Graduate Assistant)
Graduate Assistant, Women's Center, BBC
(305) 919-5359
glloyd@fiu.edu

Contact

Student Conduct & Conflict Resolution
GC 311
(305) 348-3939
conduct@fiu.edu